Sonata for Solo Violin

Mohammed Fairouz (2011)

  1. Lyric Sketch
  2. Rounds
  3. For Egypt
  4. Scherzo
  5. Lullaby of the Ex Soldat

Sonata for Solo Violin was commissioned by RPB Music LLC. for Rachel Barton Pine and is dedicated to Rachel Barton Pine

Sonata for Solo Violin:

"Drawing on both Eastern and Western influences, this multi-movement sonata responds to both historical and contemporary events: "For Egypt is a slow lamentation about present-day upheaval and its resultant loss of life, while "Lullaby of the Ex Soldat" is a tribute to the immense history contained within the instrument, the 1742 兎x-Soldat Guarneri del Gesu on which Pine will perform the premiere. This is the third work commissioned by Pine, who as a champion of new music has premiered many works written for her by composers including Jos Serebrier and Augusta Read Thomas. Pine first met Mohammed Fairouz 2010 in New York and commissioned the piece a few months later. 溺ohammed Fairouz is truly a citizen of the world, and his travels have allowed him to immerse himself in the music of so many different cultures. The results are beautifully layered compositions in which the performers and audience members experience the subject matter in a new way, says Pine. About writing for Pine, Fairouz says: 迭achel is a miraculous voice in the world of the violin and it is an honor to receive this commission from her. When we recently came together to rehearse the lyrical slow movement of the piece, I was struck by how well she understood my musical voice from the very start."